20 for ’15: The Comet is Coming – Neon Baby

Part 6 of a 20 part rundown of my favourite tracks of 2015

What the world needs now is less love sweet love and more sci-fi obsessed skronking psych jazz. Don’t believe me? Well, why would you – that statement is, on the face of it, gibberish. But then again you should give Neon Baby a listen and then try and tell me I’m wrong.

The Comet is Coming are here to tell us that, well, the comet is coming. We don’t have much time left until everything is wiped out and all that remains will be Donald Trump roaming the endless vistas of mangled concrete searching for someone to hate. Danalogue The Conqueror, Betamax Killer and King Shabaka have forseen this and are here to play out humanity in style.

What style? It’s sort a chiptune infused Acoustic Ladyland to these ears – Melt Yourself Down (to whom sax player Shabaka Hutchings also lends his horn skills) with less wild barking and more of what sounds like the noise Mario makes when he eats mushrooms. With it’s 16 bit noises and sci-fi vibes it reminds me of the side scrolling shooters and bullet hell games I played as a kid – in an ideal world the SNES would have have been able to handle actual saxophone and this would have been the soundtrack to R-Type or Pop n Twinbee*. Or the chorus sounds like it’d be perfect for one of those endless powerslides on Outrun. 

I sold this to a friend of mine by describing The Comet is Coming as a mix of Adebisi Shank and Snarky Puppy. I don’t think that’s at all accurate – I was quite giddy at the time. They have that effect on me. But Neon Baby does have a sort of similar glitchy adrenaline rush to the former, something the world is lacking since they split. The Prophecy ep has got me itching to hear what they can do over a full length. There’s nothing concrete on that so far as I’ve heard but hopefully we won’t be waiting too long to find out.

*Games I loved but royally sucked at: Neon Baby is about as long as my average run on Axelay.

